Anne Mendelson Cited Me

Just today I was reading my copy of Chow Chop Suey that I bought several weeks back at the AAS Conference. A third of the way through the book, Anne mentioned the Suiyuan Shidan.

When I turned to the Reference section at the back to see what sources she referenced, I saw it. There.  Right smack dab there among the hundreds of other cited works was my name and the URL of this site.

H**Y C**P. I AM AN AUTHORITY ON THE SUIYUAN SHIDAN.

Yes, it’s just a tiny citation, and yes she also cited Gene Anderson and Beilei Pu, but just let me bask in the glory for a bit. When I started this project more than 3 years ago near the end of my Doctorate I didn’t think that anyone would read this, much less cite it. But since then a good stream of people interesting in the Suiyuan Shidan and its translation has come here and used it as a research resource. Then quite recently Gene Anderson told me that he thought my translation was quite good, and then now the Anne Mendelson cites it? I am elated.

It’s good to know that you’re not a complete phony.

Anyways, back to Chow Chop Suey. It’s superbly researched, it reads like a joy, and it’s arguably better than any book written on the subject for either lay or academic readers. If the history of Chinese cuisine in North America is your thing, then this is your book.

Actually, you know what? If you’re reading stuff from this site, you should probably be buying one for yourself anyways. And just for completeness, get a copy for everyone your family 🙂

4 thoughts on “Anne Mendelson Cited Me”

  1. You might also like to know that Wikipedia lists this page as offering an English version of the Suiyuan Shidan. And that Wikipedia’s page on Sea Cucumbers quotes from your translation, without acknowledging it. Fortunately I’ve now found it for myself. Your bite-sized translations have lots of flavour without being too chewy. Unlike sea-cucumbers.

    1. Thanks for your kind words! The Wikipedia article for using sea cucumbers as food, sorta cites it a bit later and I do get some traffic from that page of people trying to find out more on this chewy little critter. You should try it next time you visit a good Chinese restaurant!

Leave a Reply

